Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Guest Dr. Stephen Shore on Self Advocacy

  • Broadcast in Health
  • 0 comments
AWN Radio

AWN Radio

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow AWN Radio.
h:93831
s:838899
archived

Diagnosed with "Atypical Development with strong autistic tendencies" Dr. Shore was viewed as "too sick" to be treated on an outpatient basis and recommended for institutionalization. Nonverbal until four, and with much help from his parents, teachers, and others, Stephen completed his doctoral dissertation at Boston University focused on matching best practice to the needs of people on the autism spectrum. Stephen presents and consults internationally on adult issues pertinent to education, relationships, employment, advocacy, and disclosure as discussed in his books Beyond the Wall: Personal Experiences with Autism and Asperger Syndrome, Ask and Tell: Self-advocacy and Disclosure for People on the Autism Spectrum, and the critically acclaimed Understanding Autism for Dummies.


President emeritus of the Asperger’s Association of New England, Dr. Shore serves on the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee, for the Board of Directors for Autism Society of America, Unlocking Autism, MAAP, the College Internship Program, and USAAA.

Show times are: 8:00am PST, 9:00am MST, 10:00am CST, 11:00am EST

Comments

 comments