Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

The Four Sublime States of Mind

  • Broadcast in Spirituality
Truth Of Life

Truth Of Life


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Truth Of Life.

Call in to speak with the host


The Four Sublime States: Contemplations on, Love, Compassion, Sympathetic Joy and Equanimity


The practice of compassion is essential to Buddhism, and the practice of compassion begins with the cultivation of compassion within. The Buddha taught his monks to arouse four states of mind, called the "Brahma-vihara" or "four divine states of dwelling." These four states are sometimes called the "Four Immeasurables" or the "Four Perfect Virtues."