Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Big Business Incarceration: The US Prison System

  • Broadcast in News
  • 0 comments
Hot Topics Talk Radio Network

Hot Topics Talk Radio Network

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Hot Topics Talk Radio Network.
h:244457
s:5895509
archived

At the end of 2009, 743 adults were incarcerated per 100,000 of the population. According to the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics, 2,266,800 adults were incarcerated in U.S. federal and state prisons, and county jails at the end of 2011.  Additionally, 4,814,200 adults were on probation or on parole at the end of 2011.   Equally 6,977,700 adults were under correctional supervision (probation, parole, jail, or prison) at the end of 2011. 

On this episode, we’re going to address the rising number of incarcerations, as well as the issues of housing these inmates.  Being that prisons and incarceration is BIG BUSINESS, and has a revenue of more than $1.7 Billion annually, it's not surprising that there are plans to build more jails and prisons, as well as the reconstruction of current facilities to accommodate the projection of housing more inmates.

We are pleased to have a well versed panel that will address these issues:

Our sponsor and great friend, Vonya Quarls of Shades of Afrika, will address the construction and realignment plans. Fanya Baruti will be speaking on the alternatives to jail expansion, and Diana Zuniga will cover the California State Court order and budget.

Please join us for this enlightening topic on Wednesday, January 15, 2014 at 9pm PST/ 11pm CST/ 12 Midnight EST. 

You’re welcome to phone in live on-air to (646)200-3148.  Or listen online and join the chatroom conversation.

YOU DON’T WANT TO MISS THIS EPISODE!!!

*Hot Topics Talk Radio is sponsored by Shades of Afrika Corona & Paloma Investigative Services.

Comments

 comments