BlogTalkRadio uses cookies. By using our services, you're agreeing to our Cookies Policy. Got it

Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Parenting: The Good and the Bad

  • Broadcast in Books
In the Authors Corner with Etienne

In the Authors Corner with Etienne

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow In the Authors Corner with Etienne.
h:294257
s:11911417
archived

Some children are abused by their parents, step-parents, and others. Sometimes others, along with adult victims, become victims of traffiking women & girls who become traumatized victims. This topic spills over to poor parenting. What happens when these children become the victims of poor parenting? Let’s look at what factors contributes to poor child-raising. 

To put it plainly: Some parents were exposed to incomprehensible damage, & to whom they traumatize? Their children, of course. The negative parenting skills are then carried into adulthood. In turn, it’s creating a society of unhealed adults trying the very best they can to ‘exist’ within the aftermath of a crime that should NOT have occured. 

There are numerous therapeutic approaches. Here’s one of many positive parenting training that I was introduced back in the mid-1970’s. Slowly their BIG childlike innocent wishes & dreams are replaced by Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (Complex PTSD if the abuse is ongoing & prolonged), Personality Disorders, Dissociative Disorders & self-harm: Self-loathing, self-hatred, rage, anger & confusion. And there are therapeutic approaches

Based on the concepts of Alfred Alder, Dr. Rudolph Dreikurs came up with the concept that all behavior had a purpose or goal. Dr. Dreikurs identified 4 student goals of misbehavior.

This approach has come to be known as The Parent’s Handbook: Systematic Training for Effectiveness Parenting. STEP has become productive in managing anger, domestic violence, substance abuse, behavior management, engagement and parent parenting programs, and more . . .

Airing Times in the USA: 7:00 pm AST, 7:00 pm EST, 6:00 pm CST, 5:00 pm MST, and 4:00 pm PST. Click here for International Time Zones.

Comments