Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Redrawing unconstitutional districts priority for legislature, Alabama Speaker

  • Broadcast in Politics
Howcee Productions Gospel

Howcee Productions Gospel


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Howcee Productions Gospel.

 Redrawing 12 legislative districts declared unconstitutional will be a priority for the legislative session, according to Alabama Speaker Mac McCutcheon. A federal court in Montgomery declaring the districts unconstitutional because they were gerrymandered on the lines of race. Two of the 12 districts are partially in Lee County; Rep. Pebblin Warren's, D-Tuskegee, House District 82 and Sen. Billy Beasley's, D-Clayton, Senate District 28. McCutcheon, R-Huntsville, spoke on the topic at the Auburn University Student Government Association’s Capitol on the Plains event Thursday night. “We're not for sure how many surrounding districts may be affected, and honestly, at this point, we're not to the point where we have a plan of action,” McCutcheon said after the event. “We're just going to have that committee start. Then we're going to meet with the legal (advisors) and go from there.” McCutcheon said the redrawing of the districts will follow the normal redistricting process, but he expects to districts to comply with the court’s order in time for the 2018 election season. 

District 32, represented by Rep. Barbara Boyd, D-AnnistonDistrict 53, represented by Rep. Anthony Daniels, D-Huntsville District 54, represented by Rep. Patricia Todd, D-Birmingham District 70, represented by Rep. Chris England, D-Tuscaloosa District 71, represented by Rep. A.J. McCampbell, D-Demopolis District 77, represented by Rep. John Knight, D-Montgomery District 82, represented by Rep. Pebblin Warren, D-Tuskegee District 85, represented by Rep. Dexter Grimsley, D-Newville District 99, represented by Rep. James Buskey, D-Mobile

Senate District 20, represented by Sen. Linda Coleman-Madison, D-Birmingham District 26, represented by Senate Minority Leader Quinton Ross, D-Montgomery District 28, represented by Sen. Billy Beasley, D-Clayton