Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

VERTIKAL Reading Room featuring Deng Mayik Atem

  • Broadcast in Books
  • 0 comments
VERTIKAL LIVE Radio

VERTIKAL LIVE Radio

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow VERTIKAL LIVE Radio.
h:782943
s:9545919
archived

A child of Africa, trained to be a child soldier, Deng Mayik Atem came to the United States in 1995 and received his College Degree from Arizona State University. 

Deng Mayik Atem was one of the first Lost Boys of the Sundan to arrive in America.  The Lost Boys of Sudan were over 20,000 boys of the Nuer and Dinka ethnic groups who were displaced or orphaned during the Second Sudanese Civil War (1983–2005); 

He hopes that his soon to be published memoir, "A Journey Across Worlds," with Kenneth Weene, will help Americans to understand the plight of South Sudan refugees, and the people of his homeland to understand the rest of the world.

Host Celeste Duckworth and featured Guest Deng Mayik Atem as we talk about his journey from the wars in the Sudan to America and his passion, to help the children of South Sudan.

Sunday, Oct 16th at 3:00 PM MST - 5:00 PM Central - 6:00 PM EST

As part of his personal efforts to help the children of South Sudan, Deng asks you to support The Foundation for the Children of South Sudan.

Hear this podcasts at VERTIKAL Live Radio @ ITunesSticher, Mixcloud, and Soundcloud Interested in Advertising on our podcasts for The Reading Room, contact info@vertikallifemagazine.com for advertising opportunities. 

Comments

 comments