Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Marshall Jones (Ohio Players)Lamont Patterson

  • Broadcast in Music
I Am Indi

I Am Indi


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow I Am Indi.
Marshall Jones from the Legendary Ohio Players will be joining us today.The band formed in Dayton, Ohio in 1959[2] as the Ohio Untouchables, and initially included members Robert Ward (vocals/guitar), Marshall "Rock" Jones (bass), Clarence "Satch" Satchell (saxophone/guitar), Cornelius Johnson (drums), and Ralph "Pee Wee" Middlebrooks (trumpet/trombone). They were best known at the time as a backing group for Detroit's The Falcons.[2] On August 17, 2013 The Ohio Players were inducted into the 1st class of the Official R&B Music Hall of Fame. That took place in Cleveland, Ohio at Cleveland State U.

The Ohio Untouchables broke up in 1963 with Ward leaving for a solo career, but the core members of the group returned to Dayton and the following year added Gregory Webster (drums) along with Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner (guitar), who would become the group's front man.[2] The group added two more singers, Bobby Lee Fears and Dutch Robinson, and became the house band for the New York based Compass Records for Vocalist Helena Ferguson Kilpatrick in 1967 who had just returned from Gershwin's European Tour of Porgy and Bess.

The group disbanded again in 1970. After again reforming with a line-up including Bonner, Satchell, Middlebrooks, Jones, Webster, trumpeter Bruce Napier, vocalist Charles Dale Allen, trombonist Marvin Pierce and keyboardist Walter "Junie" Morrison, the Players had a minor hit on the Detroit-based Westbound label in 1971 with "Pain," which reached the Top 40 of the Billboard R&B Chart. James Johnson joined the group at this time as vocalist and saxophonist. Dale Allen shared co-lead vocals on some of the early Westbound material, although he was not credited on their albums Pain and Pleasure..