Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Hassan nominated to chair electoral body

  • Broadcast in Social Networking
Denzel Musumba

Denzel Musumba


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Denzel Musumba.

Mr Isaack Ahmed Hassan looks set to remain the overseer-in-chief of the electoral process after President Kibaki and Prime Minister Raila Odinga nominated him to chair the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.Hassan currently chairs the soon-to- be defunct Interim Independent Electoral Commission (IIEC) and his nomination means Ms Koki Muli and Murshid Abdalla lost the race.
Kibaki and Raila forwarded his name and those of eight proposed IEBC commissioners to Parliament for approval.

The eight are Dr Yusuf Nzibo, Ms Muthoni Wangai, Mr Abdullahi Sharawe, Mr Albert Bwire, Mr Thomas Letangule, Ms Lillian Bokeeye, Mr Mohammed Alawi, and Mr Kule Godana.

If Parliament approves Hassan’s nomination Parliament, he would oversee the next General Election. The Dr Ekuru Aukot-led IEBC Selection Panel forwarded his name and those of Koki Muli and Murshid Abdalla to the President and the PM.

Kibaki ensured he concluded the task before he flew to Australia for a meeting of the Commonwealth Heads of State, to avoid being accused of stalling the process.

On Wednesday, House Speaker Kenneth Marende in a communication from the Chair told the House that the two principals had forwarded the names to Parliament, as the Constitution requires.

Mr Marende in turn forwarded the nine names to Parliament’s Constitution Implementation Oversight Committee that will vet the names and table their report in Parliament on November 3.

Mandera Central MP, Abdikadir Mohammed, chairs the parliamentary committee.More info Click here