Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.


  • Broadcast in Social Networking
Denzel Musumba

Denzel Musumba


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Denzel Musumba.
A political novice on Monday pulled a major upset by defeating two veteran politicians to claim the Makadara parliamentary seat in Nairobi. Businessman Gideon Mbuvi Kioko — who only joined national politics three months ago — beat former MPs Dick Wathika and Reuben Ndolo by nearly 3,000 votes in Monday’s by-election. Former MPs William Kabogo and Margaret Wanjiru reclaimed the Juja and Starehe parliamentary seats respectively. Bishop Wanjiru was reclaiming the seat she lost in an election petition, while Mr Kabogo, a successful petitioner, was reclaiming the seat he held before the 2007 poll. He got 45,020 votes, beating the immediate former MP, Mr George Thuo, to third place with 19,366 votes. Kenya National Congress Party’s Alice Wambui was second with 24,326 votes. In Makadara, newcomer Gideon Mbuvi Kioko, alias Sonko, polled 19,106, Reuben Ndolo 16,215 and Mr Wathika 10,480. Among the petitioners, only Mr Kabogo in Juja won as Mr Kamanda and Mr Ndolo fell by the wayside. It was a major disappointment for Deputy PM Uhuru Kenyatta, who had campaigned hard for Mr Thuo, a former Government Chief Whip and Mr Wathika, but eventually lost to a candidate supported by his political rival Gichugu, MP Martha Karua. Kabogo has 45,020 votes against rival Alice Ng'ang'a with 24,326 followed by former Member of Parliament George Thuo coming third with 17,461 votes. In Starehe constituency, Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) Bishop Margaret Wanjiru is equally set to reclaim her seat with results from Interim Independent Electoral Commission show her leading with 29,287, against Maina Kamanda's 25,416 who vied on a Party of National Unity (PNU) ticket. In Makadara, Narc Kenya's Mike Mbuvi is set to win the seat with a lead of 19,535 against Reuben Ndolo's 16,613 with former legislator Dick Wathika towing with 10,937 votes out of the 25 polling stations.