Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.


  • Broadcast in Social Networking
Denzel Musumba

Denzel Musumba


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Denzel Musumba.
Four political parties have offered direct nominations to candidates for the Makadara, Starehe and Juja by-elections. PNU, ODM, DP and Narc-Kenya broke away from the tradition of offering party supporters an opportunity to elect their candidate for the September 20 by-elections. And all party leaders have defended the move. Interestingly, all former MPs who contested results of the 2007 elections in the three constituencies will be on the ballot box, after their parties cleared them. In Makadara, ODM nominated former MP Reuben Ndolo to face immediate former MP Dick Wathika of PNU. In Starehe, ODM’s Margaret Wanjiru was cleared to defend her seat against former Minister Maina Kamanda of PNU. Fresh leadership In Juja, immediate former MP George Thuo of PNU was cleared to defend his seat against former MP William Kabogo of Narc-Kenya. Yesterday, ODM Director of Elections Joseph Misoi said Mr Dick Githaiga has also been cleared to contest the Juja parliamentary seat on the party ticket. Others cleared for the contest and are expected to hand over their nomination certificates to the Interim Independent Electoral Commission (IIEC), today include Mwalimu Muchai, a former Mang’u High School Principal (DP), and KSC’s Alice Nganga. In Starehe, DP Organising Secretary Jacob Haji said the party had cleared Mr Jimnah Mbaru, a businessman. In Starehe Narc-Kenya has nominated Mr Jackson Mwangi, while Mr Mike ‘Sonko’ Mbuvi will be the party candidate in Makadara. Nuru Party’s Lindi Wafula will also contest the Makadara seat. Ms Wafula said she would be asking voters to try new leaders. Also cleared for Juja is former MP Stephen Ndichu of Agano party. Yesterday, the candidates exuded confidence and called for peaceful campaigns. Mr Mwangi said: "The Starehe electorate have an opportunity to try somebody else and if given a chance I would end the history of unfulfilled election pledges by the two former MPs."