Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

About the Books :: Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

  • Broadcast in Books



Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow WordSmitten.

Welcome to WordSmitten, and to our About the Books broadcast.

This special segment welcomes Karen Long who spearheads a notable event, and the winners, of the 78th Annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards. 

This year's award-winning authors are:
• Laird Hunt, KIND ONE, Fiction
• Kevin Powers, THE YELLOW BIRDS, Fiction
• Eugene Gloria, MY FAVORITE WARLORD, Poetry
• Andrew Solomon, FAR FROM THE TREE,  Nonfiction
• Wole Soyinka, Lifetime Achievement
Past winners include five writers who went on to win Nobel prizes – Nadine Gordimer, the Rev. Martin Luther King,
Jr., Toni Morrison, Wole Soyinka, and Derek Walcott.

“The 2013 Anisfield-Wolf winners are exemplars who broaden our vision of race and diversity,” said Henry Louis
Gates, Jr., who chairs the jury.  “This year, there is exceptional writing about the war in Iraq, slavery on a Kentucky pig farm, the Filipino experience in the U.S., and the complexity of families in which a child is radically different from parents.”

Gates directs the W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African-American Research at Harvard University, where he is also the Alphonse Fletcher University Professor. He praised the singular achievement of Wole Soyinka, the Nigerian whose writing won a Nobel prize in 1986, three years after he won an Anisfield-Wolf award for his
memoir, “Ake: The Years of Childhood.”

For more information about the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards visit www.Anisfield-Wolf.org. www.Anisfield-Wolf.org and for submissions, look the Submission Guidelines.

For more information about WordSmitten and About the Books, visit www.WordSmittenMedia.com and www.About-the-Books.com or contact our office:

WordSmitten Media, Inc. ~ 800-727-6214
First Avenue North #109-110 ~ St. Petersburg, FL 33713

Facebook comments

Available when logged-in to Facebook and if Targeting Cookies are enabled