Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Episode 156 – “If Not Now, When?”

  • Broadcast in Current Events
RFIRN

RFIRN

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow RFIRN.
h:1013899
s:10744053
archived

RFIR Host; Brian, Steven

Join RFIRN, The Voice of the Voiceless on Sunday, April 29th, from 9-11 p.m. EST., 8-10 p.m. CST., 7-9 p.m. MST., 6-8 p.m. PST., for Episode 156 – “If Not Now, When?” We are pleased to welcome our guest this evening from Glastonbury, CT, Monica Szymonik. Monica converted to the “Green Party” in 2016 and is currently running for State Representative of the 31st District. She is a mother, wife, author, business owner and crusader of justice. In the past decade, she has banded with parents who struggle to identify the core challenges in their children as they grow. One of her life’s missions is empowering people with disabilities and illness to seek out alternative remedies that work best for them, rather than being bullied by insurance companies to only follow the pharmaceutical model.

Although her career in the wellness field is satisfying, her longtime advocacy work is where her true passion lies. This transpired in 2013 when a Southbury-based nonprofit connected her with the Coalition for Connecticut Family Court Reform, where she assisted in the passing of Public Act 14-3 in 2014. She then launched a legal abuse support group in South Windsor and began guest blogging for nonprofit organizations. Monica published a self-help book entitled "Broken System, Broken Heart", which guides parents through the aftermath of Family Court-based legal abuse. For over eight years, Monica carried herself through the Family and Appellate courts as a self-represented litigant, which necessitated hundreds of hours of self-guided legal research. As a non-lawyer, taking on the legal system gave her much appreciation for politics and law, and is a large part of what brings her here. Monica is committed to reversing Connecticut's dystopian model of stripping away parent-child rights following divorce. Monica encourages everyone to step and Join the fight.

Comments