Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Author, Dave Robbins..

  • Broadcast in Books
Holly Stephey Red Velvet Media

Holly Stephey Red Velvet Media


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Holly Stephey Red Velvet Media.

Dave Robbins has been actively writing fiction for nearly 30 years. The settings of his novels is the 1960s. His first published novel, “The Tu-tone DeSoto” (2014), introduces eight teenagers growing up in Iowa. A young adult novel, the story focuses on the kids’ relationships with their parents and among themselves as they come of age during the veiled turbulence underlying The Kennedy Years (1960-63). His second published novel, “The Reverend” is a crime mystery centered around a serial killer-priest in New York City, 1963-4. A third novel, ‘The Weight of Indifference”, is set in San Francisco and Vietnam during 1965-68. Though the protagonists in the books are introduced in “The Tu-Tone DeSoto,” and they make up a loose series, the novels are written as stand-alone stories.

A former publications art director/designer, he is also an independent publications strategist. Robbins has co-authored two design reference books: "Motion by Design" (Laurence King, 2006) and "Visual Effects Artistry" (Elsevier Press, 2009). He currently presents a lecture/discussion series entitled “The 1960s: Revisiting a Crucial Decade.” He also teaches a course/workshop in fiction writing. Many of his students have blossomed into the writers they never thought they could be. His reward is the nurturing of such talent. He is also a frequent guest on local radio and TV interview shows, where he discusses the 1960s and the effect of media upon culture through history.