Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.


  • Broadcast in Travel
NDB Media

NDB Media


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow NDB Media.

A National Scenic Byway is a road recognized by the U.S. Dept. of Transportation for one or more of six "intrinsic qualities": archeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational, and scenic. Some of those byways are designated as Some scenic byways are designated as All-American Roads, which must meet two of the six intrinsic qualities. The designation means they have features that do not exist elsewhere in the United States and are unique and important enough to be tourist destinations by themselves. As of January 21, 2021, there were 184 National Scenic Byways located in 48 states. Created by Congress in 1991 to preserve and protect the nation's scenic but less-traveled roads while promoting and economic development, the National Scenic Byways Program (NSBP) is administered by the Federal Highway Administration. Hear more on TRAVEL ITCH RADIO Thursday, September 28, when Stacy Brown, president of the National Scenic Byways Foundation, visits TRAVEL ITCH RADIO for a far-reaching interview with Dan Schlossberg and Maryellen Nugent Lee. Show #523 in Season 12.


Facebook comments

Available when logged-in to Facebook and if Targeting Cookies are enabled