BlogTalkRadio uses cookies. By using our services, you're agreeing to our Cookies Policy. Got it

Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Virginia Answers Why, How, and for What Reasons Are Fictions Written?

  • Broadcast in Books
In the Authors Corner with Etienne

In the Authors Corner with Etienne

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow In the Authors Corner with Etienne.
h:294257
s:11906953
archived

In the previous program we talked about the benefits that book translation can have for authors and how can translators help them and provide a good product.  We referred to the importance of choosing the right vocabulary and phrasing the content in a way that would sound natural for readers of the translated version.

That step is the key if we want to obtain an accurate translation. Before finding equivalents, before attempting to translate anything, we need to understand the author’s mind.

About Virginia: Virginia, a literary translator along with her colleagues, are trained to perceive all the semantic load of the words chosen by the author. They struggle to find the best equivalent to use in the translated version. They struggle to find the best equivalent to use in the translated version. 

A keen English-to-Spanish translator, Virginia graduated from the National University of Cordoba, Argentina. For 5 years, she has worked as a freelance translator in a variety of fields, such as journalism, literature, & entertainment. Throughout her professional career, she has learned that each client is unique &  goes to her with specific needs & expectations. Therefore, Virginia puts special emphasis on fluent communication to detect those expectations & to be able to offer them the exact product they had in mind.

USA Air Times: 5:00 pm AST, 4:00 pm EST, 3:00 pm CST, 2:00 pm MST, and 1:00 pm PST. Click for International Time Zones.

Comments