Email us for help
For years, oats were considered unsafe for those with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. Over time, we learned that oats in fact do not contain gluten, but they are so heavily contaminated during growth, cultivation, processing and packaging, that they almost always contain too much gluten to be considered gluten free under the FDA's new less than 20 parts per million of gluten standard.
Thankfully, some growers embraced the idea of a "purity protocol" whereby they would only grow oats on certain fields and they would harvest, process and package these oats apart from any gluten containing grain like wheat, barley and rye. These dedicated gluten free oats have offered a safe, high fiber, nutrient dense food to add into the gluten free diet.
Recently, some mainstream food manufacturers in the US have begun to offer oat-based products to GF consumers, sold as "mechanically separated" oats, not using the purity protocol. These products are said to test to less than 20ppm gluten and are being labeled as gluten free. Find out what this process entails, the current results of testing these products and the various opinions on its safety during this special episode on oats. Tune in to learn the difference between oats to decide what's safe for your diet and for your family.
Special guest: Seaton Smith of GF Harvest and Gluten Free Oats.