Wm Aquaculture

Wm Aquaculture

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Wm Aquaculture.

The Fine Art of Prehistoric Fish: Coelacanths

  Broadcast in Pets

Call in to speak with the host

(949) 534-0637

The Fine Art of Prehistoric Fish: Coelacanths
Saturday September 14th 2013, 10 PM EST, 9 PM CST, 7 PM PST 
 
Ken McKeighen will be on the show discussing both the extant and extinct prehistoric fish that this order of fish represents and how they evolved on the planet earth. Two extant species are recognized in science today that biologists study and both are deep sea species Latimeria chalumnae from off the coast of Madagascar and Latimeria menadoensi.
 
What happened to the other representatives of this order of prehistoric fish to make them go extinct?
 
Were they all deep sea specimens? Or was the populations of Coelcanths at one time found all over the globe like some of the modern fish species?
 
Were some freshwater? Or were they all Saltwater species?
The study of paleontology when it comes to prehistoric fish has many theories involved in extinction and the best way is to compare the extant species of this family to possibly know the habits and behavior of relative extinct species.
 
For More information on this episode go to:
 
 
Check out the Under The Sea Radio Show Store at:
 
 
To check out the Under The Sea Radio Show website go to 
 
Tags:
Under The Sea Radio Show
Fine Art of Prehistoric Fish
Ken McKeighen
Ichthyology
Paleontology
h:172654
s:5407339
archived

Comments

 comments