Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Understanding Spiral Dynamics and Different Levels of Consciousness

  • Broadcast in Self Help



Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow VoARadio.

Consciousness is an abstract term that means differrent things to each of us. However, there are some interesting studies that demonstrate there are some measurable ways to distinguish separate levels of thinking, believing, and experiencing the world.

Spiral Dynamics is a theory of human development that delineates as many as 10 unique and separate levels of consciousness. Building on the work of Clare Graves, authors of the book Spiral Dynamics, Christopher Cowan and Don Beck share their ideas about the the evolution of human consciousness, individually as well as collectively.

As individulas with infinate potential, we have the ability to operate within any of the given levels, however, as Cowan and Beck point out, each of us has a level of consciousness where we call "home" based on our past experiences and life circumstances. Below is a list of different levels separated by color and a few key words that represent the prodominate thinking...

  • Beige...Survival of the Fittest, Animalistic, Little Self-Awareness
  • Purple...Tribal, Fearful, Mystical
  • Red...Power Hungry, Dominance and Control of Others
  • Blue...Law and Order, Hierarchy, Rules and Regulations
  • Orange...Success, Prosparity, Entrepreneurial
  • Green...Nature, Community and Harmony
  • Yellow...Flex Flow...Systematic,
  • Turquoise...Holistic, Integrated, Unity Consciousness...

Listen in as we discuss these levels of consciousness as well as how we can use this informaiton as a tool.


To connect with The Truth Detective http://www.russellfostermentoring.com