Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

The Fourth Branch: Interview with Authors of Parents Acting Badly

  • Broadcast in Current Events
  • 0 comments
Truth Emerges

Truth Emerges

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Truth Emerges.
h:677307
s:9601535
archived

The Fourth Branch: Authors of Parents Acting Badly, November 10, 2016 at 6-8 p.m. Pacific, 7-9 p.m. Mountain, 8-10 p.m. Central, and 9-11 p.m. Eastern. Join our podcast with Authors of 2016's Parents Acting Badly, Jennifer Harman and Zeynep Biringen. “Parental alienation is a serious problem of epidemic proportions that has only recently started drawing serious public attention.” It is a pattern of dysfunctional behavior seen in adversarial parental relationships that manifests as psychological manipulation of children and other persons by one parent to depict the other parent as dangerous, undesirable, and unnecessary in the lives of their children. The authors intend to frame this problem as a social and cultural one, not just a private one.

In collaboration with the Colorado Parental Alienation Project, Harmon and Biringen directed a survey of over 700 people and interviews of 82 parents. They believe it is the largest qualitative study to date. Their findings indicate that over 22 million parents in the United States have been subjected to targeting and loss of access to their children.  The authors cite a shocking incidence rate of 40% of college-age adults as identifying some influence of parental alienation in their lives. 

Join us for research-based findings and discussion.

Permalink: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/truthemerges/2016/11/11/the-fourth-branch-interview-with-authors-of-parents-acting-badly

Call GUEST LINE (347)855-8301, press 1 to join.

Comments

 comments