Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

BUD 101-2 "The Four Noble Truths and Eightfold Noble Path"

  • Broadcast in Religion
The Life of Universal Loving

The Life of Universal Loving


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow The Life of Universal Loving.

This is the second episode in the Introduction to Buddhism Series. In this episode, Tenzin will explain briefly what the expression, 'turning of the wheel of Dharma' means, and explain the first teaching Buddha gave after he became enlightened. Buddha gave these teachings at a place in India called, "Deer Park." This teaching at Deer Park introduced the middle way, the four noble truths and the eight-fold noble path. These teachings are called, in Buddhist tradition Tenzin practices, "the first turning of the wheel of Dharma."  Many of the future episodes of the Introduction to Buddhism series will explain these teachings in detail. This episode, therefore, begins to explan the major beliefs and practices of Buddhism that presuppose the basic world view of Buddhism introduced in the first episode of this series. It is therefore, somewhat important to understand the basic worldview of Buddhism in order to better appreciate the meaning of the four noble truths and the eightfold noble path. 

The following is a link to a translation of the actual sutta Buddha gave at Deer Park. Its title translates as the "Putting the Wheel of Dhamma In Motion Discourse," where 'Dhamma' is the Pali word that is 'Dharma' in Sanskrit. Both of these words are used in Buddhism to refer to the teachings of the Buddha. Please note this is the best translation I could find online. In this translation, the word 'dukkha' is left untranslated. 'Dukkha' is the Pali word that is usually translated as 'suffering,' and this is the translation Tenzin always uses for 'dukkha.'