Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

7 Stages of Grief after Chronic Illness Diagnosis

  • Broadcast in Health
Robin Shirley

Robin Shirley


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Robin Shirley.

Shock/Disbelief, Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Guilt, Depression, Acceptance and Hope. Let's talk about these in relation to chronic illness. The 7 Stages of Grief are generally applied to things like divorce, loss of family member or friend, loss of a job, etc. About 4 years after my diagnosis, I realized that I was experienceing these stages due to the juvenile rheumatoid arthritis diagnosis & symptoms I acquired in 7th grade. I'll share my experience and how you can move through these stages with ease.