• 00:44

    NCTE on THE USE OF GRAPHIC NOVELS & A CONVERSATION ABOUT "BANNED BOOKS WEEK"

    in Education

    NCTE on THE USE OF GRAPHIC NOVELS & A CONVERSATION ABOUT "BANNED BOOKS WEEK"


    ST. Louis University Professor Jennifer Buehler and University of Central Florida's Jeff Kaplan are our guests


    www.ncte.org  @ncte


    Presented by The Great Books Foundation


    www.greatbooks.org @greatbooksfnd

  • 00:31

    Graphic Novels: Twilight Saga & Book Reviews!

    in Books

    In today's show I'll be sharing my thoughts on graphic novels after reading Page by Paige and The Twilight Saga's: Twilight Graphic Novels.


    I'll also be reviewing, "Fat, Broke, & Lonely No More!" by Victoria Moran & Bram Stoker's, Dracula!


    Then we'll talk a little bit about the whole goodreads vs. booklikes issue! What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments!


     


    A lot is happening on today's episode so be sure to tune in & invite a friend!

  • 00:32

    "ONLI STUDIOS' -- Graphic Novels to the Classroom."

    in Business

    Chicago’s Black Business Radio Network


    All Black! All News! All You!


    CBBN Business Journals


    PRESENTS


    Onli has authored and illustrated several comic books and graphic novels, including NOG, Protector of the Pyramids. He is known as "the father" of the "Black Age of Comics,"[2] a movement dedicated to the promotion, creation, and support of Afrocentric comic books and graphic novels.


    Mr. Onli will discuss the benefits of participating in professional development activities with ONLI STUDIOS and how learning can be enhanced by utilizing graphic images in the classroom.


    One does not have to be a "talented artist" to be successful in these workshops.


    These are I.S.B.E. Approved  workshops for educators grades K-12.


    Click below to find out more information relative to programming:
    http://www.onlistudios.com/Rhythmistic_Institute.html


    Mr. Turtel Onli


    Chief Operating Artist


    http://www.onlistudios.com


     


    Ms. Sonja Cassandra Perdue


    Executive Producer


    Chicago's Black Business Radio Network.com

  • 00:31

    Behind the Mask with Frosty Ogre Graphic Novels

    in Books

    This week's guests are Stuart Thomas and Jon Eastman from Frosty Ogre Graphic Novels, creators of the new Arthurian legend, alternate reality story, 13 Legends.  Join us to find out about this unique project and how you can obtain a special edition of the first book.

  • 00:56

    Author Park Cooper visits Reverie Radio

    in Books

    Park Cooper was born in Texas, where he currently resides, after a period of time living in Kent, Ohio, where he got his Ph.D. in literature. He writes with his wife Barbara Lien-Cooper at their creative studio Wicker Man Studios, and together they have written comic books and graphic novels, including HALF DEAD, a creator-owned vampire graphic novel that was published jointly by Marvel Comics and Dabel Brothers Productions. He also helped write one very short tale for his wife's digital comic, GUN STREET GIRL, drawn by Ryan Howe. While co-writing a manga project for Tokyopop shortly before that company's exit from the field, he and Barbara switched to also editing and adapting manga, such as V.B. ROSE for Tokyopop, NORA for Viz Media, and many, many more. Most recently, Park and Barbara started writing prose novels, such as PICARESQUE, a comedic fantasy novel about a court jester forced to live by his wits in a dangerous world. Park teaches English classes at a college in Austin, Texas, and is the editor-in-chief of the independent comic book company Septagon Studios. A comic book project he wrote, SWIPE, illustrated by Bryan Randall, came out last year from Angry Viking Press.


     


    Find Park here!


     


    http://www.amazon.com/Picaresque-Park-Cooper-ebook/dp/B005LEGKAE


    http://avpressstaff.dot5hosting.com/swipeagain.html


    http://www.thegeekgirlproject.com/2013/06/24/angry-viking-roundup-swipe-1-and-2evil-diva-1-and-2/

  • 01:59

    Suspense Radio - Inside Edition April 18th, 2015

    in Books

    Suspense Radio returns for a hard hitting two hour show. Fans of Tru Blood and Sookie will love to hear our first guest Charlaine Harris. Next will be author Robert Lewis, followed by Colin Campbell and finished up with Ace Atkins.


    www.suspenseradionetwork.com www.suspensemagazine.com


    Sookie Stackhouse has proven to be so popular that Alan Ball, creator of the HBO television series Six Feet Under, announced he would undertake the production of a new HBO series based upon the  books  He wrote and directed the pilot episode for that series, True Blood, which premiered in September of 2008.


    In October 2005, the first of Harris’s new mystery series about a young woman named Harper Connelly debuted with the release of Grave Sight. Harper has the ability to determine the cause of death of any body. After four novels, this series is on hiatus.


    Now Harris is working on a trilogy of graphic novels with Christopher Golden and artist Don Kramer, “Cemetery Girl.” On her own she is writing a new series set in the small town of Midnight, Texas.

  • 01:01

    SPECIAL EDITION WITH BEST SELLING AUTHOR JON LAND

    in Writing

    The next adventure of "The Seven Sins"' Michael "The Tyrant" Tiranno, Jon Land's "Black Scorpion "is a pulse pounding action-thriller as he takes on a worldwide human trafficking cabal.Five years have passed since Michael Tiranno saved the city of Las Vegas from a terrorist attack. And now a new enemy has surfaced in Eastern Europe in the form of an all-powerful organization called Black Scorpion. Once a victim of human trafficking himself, the shadowy group's crazed leader, Vladimir Dracu, has become the mastermind behind the scourge's infestation on a global scale. And now he's set his sights on Michael Tiranno for reasons birthed in a painful secret past that have scarred both men.Already facing a myriad of problems, Michael once more must rise to the challenge of confronting an all-powerful enemy who is exploiting and ravaging innocents all across the globe and has set nothing less than all of America as its new victim. Black Scorpion has also taken the woman Michael loves hostage: Scarlett Swan, a beautiful archaeologist who was following the dangerous trail of the origins of the ancient relic that both defines and empowers Michael, a discovery that could change history and the perception of mankind's very origins.With the deck and the odds stacked against him, Michael must come to learn and embrace his true destiny in becoming the Tyrant reborn as a dark knight to triumph over ultimate evil and stop the sting of Black Scorpion from undermining all of the United States and plunging Las Vegas into chaos and anarchy.A major production for a feature film is in active development in Hollywood based on the franchised character of Michael Tiranno, the Tyrant. The film will be based on the blended adaptation of "Black Scorpion" and its predecessor, "The Seven Sins, " which both have also been licensed to DC Comics for comic books and graphic novels publications worldwide. Fran Lewis:Host

  • 00:31

    A Chat with Artist S. L. Johnson

    in Art

    SpeakEasy host K. A. Laity chats with graphic artist S. L. Johnson, who creates both fine art images including wood and linoleum block prints and graphic design for clients including posters, t-shirts and a wide variety of merchandise. We'll be chatting about the creative life as usual and finding the sweet spot between pleasing clients and pleasing yourself. Johnson designed the SpeakEasy's own Trixie Sneer logo which is available on a variety of items. Drop by her shop to check out all the available merchandise!

  • 01:13

    Graphic Policy Radio: Politics and Comics of the Multiverses

    in Pop Culture

    It's Monday night, and that means a brand new episode of Graphic Policy Radio, the show thay mixes politics and comics. It's been a bit since we discussed recent releases and general news in the comic industry, so it's potluck Monday!


    On this episode:



    We talk what we've been reading and discuss hot comics and graphic novels you should check out, and what you should skip, and what we're looking forward to!
    Emerald City Comicon was this past weekend with lots of announcements and hints as to what's coming up. We round up the news and talk about what you need to know.
    Geekdom and politics clashed this past week and the largest game convention in North American Gen Con spoke out about Indiana's SB 101, and threatened to leave the state if passed. We lay it out there as to what you need to know.
    The past few weeks also saw controversy. We discuss the recent round of harassment as well as the controversy over DC Comics variant cover to Batgirl #41.


    We discuss all of that and more this Monday! We want to hear from you. Call in with your thoughts or Tweet them to us @graphicpolicy.

  • 00:43

    Cartel : Gory Executions near Texas Border

    in Current Events

    **WARNING GRAPHIC** Cartel Chronicles: Gory Executions Continue near Texas Border - FBI huddles over ISIS in Mexico - GOP helps Obama advance global-integration agenda - Supreme Court: Obama Admin Can’t Make Religious Groups Obey Pro-Abortion HHS Mandate  - Blinded by laser-armed cops – scared yet? - University Recruits Teens to Abort Their Babies in Name of “Scientific Research” - Physicians Want Dr. Oz Removed from Columbia University Medical Faculty - Top Judge: Britain’s Courts Should Respect the Right of Muslim Women to Wear the Veil


     

  • 01:17

    Situations Live

    in Self Help

    Situations Live catches up with Marcko from ME-Creative Agency. We will discuss his agency as well as what it takes to be a graphic designer. Listen in live by clicking the link or calling in at 347-945-6867.

Join Host Live Chats

From the BTR Blog