Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

  • 01:15

    10th Anniversary of Sideways Conversation with Author Rex Pickett

    in Entertainment

    Wine Muse hosts Linda Rez and William Pollard welcome Rex Pickett--author of what may be the all-time most dramatically influential book about wine: Sideways.


    The movie, which was based on that book, was nominated for 5 Academy Awards and won the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay; it also won over 350 awards from critics.  In 2011 Mr. Pickett published Vertical which continues the story of Miles and Jack as they embark on a roadtrip with Miles' mom, her nurse, and her dog through wine country and middle America. Vertical explores Miles' relationship with his mother and his coming to grips with her impending death.


    Mr. Pickett recently adapted his novel Sideways for the stage. It sold out to audiences for six months when it was performed at the Ruskin Group Theater, and it then went on to break all attendance records at the La Jolla Playhouse in San Diego, where it was directed by Des McAnuff.  The play is now heading to London's West End.


    He has a new book in the trilogy coming this fall, Sideways 3 Chile, you won't want to miss, which follows Miles' life and wine adventures in Chile.  


    Join us for an in-depth and honest conversation with a great writer.

  • 01:15

    10th Anniversary of Sideways Iconoclastic Author Rex Pickett Interview

    in Entertainment

    It's the 10th anniversary of Sideways, the book and movie that changed the wine world.  Wine Muse hosts Linda Rez and William Pollard are honored to welcome Rex Pickett--iconoclastic author of the book.


    The movie was nominated for 5 Academy Awards and won the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay; it also won over 350 awards from critics.  In 2011 Mr. Pickett published Vertical which continues the story of Miles and Jack as they embark on a roadtrip with Miles' mom, her nurse, and her dog through wine country and middle America. Vertical explores Miles' relationship with his mother and his coming to grips with her impending death.


    Mr. Pickett recently adapted his novel Sideways for the stage. It sold out to audiences for six months when it was performed at the Ruskin Group Theater, and it then went on to break all attendance records at the La Jolla Playhouse in San Diego, where it was directed by Des McAnuff.  The play is now heading to London's West End. He has a new book in the trilogy coming this fall, Sideways 3 Chile, you won't want to miss, which follows Miles' life and wine adventures in Chile.  

  • 00:57

    The Champagne Sisters w/ #Sideways Author @RexPickett!

    in Entertainment

       Rex Pickett has written numerous screenplays, books, scripts and movies, and his greatest success came with his novel Sideways, now adapted as a successful & sold out stage play.
    He shares with us how he found & followed his passion, how the Sideways play came about, why he decided to name it "Sideways", what he thinks of social media.  He also tells us some insight into the Hollywood world, and about his recent trip to Chile, and what is next for him!
    Enjoy the show as we *CLINK!* & CHAT!* with Rex!  

  • 03:00

    R.R/ KITM/News/P.Diddy Arrested/Living A Happier Life/Obamas Use Of The "N" Word

    in Radio

          Much to my surprised, I discovered, when I arise, the goodness and the greatness of stimulating conversation.  Words spoken to make you think, thoughts that make you reason, conclustions that bring you to action, either by spreading the word, opening up the discussion for more provocative or getting a resolution - in other words - Eric & Mark Harris - front & center, and sideways too, if you have a mind 2 - 347-205-9366.


    THEN - blasts those thermos containers with soup or coffee.  Did you ever have a thermos, (the old kind) break on you, and ruin your lunch, or whatever meal you had inside?  And what does that have, if anything to do with KINGS IN THE MORNING.  It's a new day with show shocking shtuff. - And yes I said it - S H T U F F - pronounced SHHHHH STUFF.  "Well why didn't you just say that????"  Uh - duh!  KINGS IN THE MORNING 347-205-9366.

  • 01:01

    Talking In Circles: Talladega Review; Crazy Weeekend

    in Sports

    On tonight's episode of Talking in Circles; we discuss this weekend's events at Talladega Superspeedway. The NASCAR Xfinity Series race was clouded with controversy as Joey Logano won the Winn-Dixie 300, but the rules in the NASCAR Xfinity Series prohibit drivers from "push drafting." It was evident that no matter how big or how small, there was push drafting during that race, and some think that there should have been a different winner. 


    The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race, the Geico 500 was the exact opposite today. There was an early "big one" that was caused when Trevor Bayne got sideways in front of the field. This took out some early contenders in the race. 


    Other than that, there wasn't much action. Everyone was anticipating the others making their move with around 20 laps to go. No one did. No moves were made. A couple of drivers tried to get out of line, but no one gave them any help and Dale Earnhardt, Jr went on to the victory. 


    We'll discuss the strategy of the end of the race, and what just may be going through people's head at the end of the race.

  • 01:07

    The Over The Monster Podcast, Episode 124: What if everything is horrible?

    in Baseball

    Marc Normandin and Matt Kory are here and HOPEFULLY YOU CAN HEAR US, BLOGTALKRADIO SHEESH, to discuss the Red Sox start to the season, the starting pitching and whether or not it's too early to freak the heck out about the starting pitching. They/we also talk about the Sox options on the pitching side if things continue to go sideways, and they might talk about some prospects though they might not. Tune in to see! It's always enlightening, it's always fun, and maybe you'll even be able to hear it, it's the OTM Podcast!

  • 00:22

    Speak Live Nation W/ Cedric Nettles Actress & Singer Maria Howell

    in Radio

    Maria Howell stops by Speak Live Nation with Cedric Nettles and shares her start as an actress as she will be forever rememebered in a certain magical scene in The Color Purple. She is a very talented actress, voice over artist, and singer. 


    Some may be inspired to call her best kept secret, but anyone who leaves an imprint on every medium from radio, stage and television to the Hollywood screen is hardly incognito. Howell's talent has been featured as a nightclub singer "Goldie", in "The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles", produced by George Lucas (Chicago and NY episodes, which also features veteran actor Keith David). Other roles on the small screen include "Linda", where she plays alongside master performers Richard Thomas (The Waltons) and Virginia Madsen (Sideways) and in "Scattered Dreams" with Tyne Daly (Judging Amy) and Alicia Silverstone (Clueless and Beauty Shop).


    Her credibility as a true thespian flourished when she nailed a coveted role as the daughter of Maya Angelou's character in Langston Hughes' "Tambourines to Glory" stage play. She has worked with famed actor, director and producer, Tyler Perry in film, "Daddy's Little Girls" and in his TV sitcoms "Meet the Browns"and "House of Payne" (TBS).


     


     

  • 00:30

    What Is Up With Single Men? A Discussion On The Lost Boys

    in Psychology

    Dating is a minefield. It is a shell-game. You think you know him and then you don't. Women are alone or they're dating and disappointed. Why? Because the men that they encounter eventually fall short. Why does this happen?  Is it entirely the man's fault or do the person he's dating play a role in things going sideways.  Dr. Gary Penn discusses this dynamic of troubled men in the dating world.

  • 00:56

    Daily Gogetemism #169 And Then All Of A Sudden The Sky Started Falling

    in Lifestyle

    Do you start to look at people sideways when you meet someone that initially seems to have their stuff together but soon after you get to know them they come up with all of these bills, emergencies and issues. The car breaks down, the kids get sick or in trouble, the rent man is threateniing to put them out and they need to move in with you and they just lost their job. Huh? What the......?


    How does this happen? What do you about it if and when it does?

  • 00:30

    Joe Goldberg,"Secret Wars: An Espionage Story"

    in Books

    Secret Wars: An Espionage Story is a suspenseful glimpse into the shadowy world of the CIA, where deceivers become the deceived and the consequences are life or death. It's a clandestine world where intricate networks of people fight a complex battle to keep the world safe from terrorism.


    When terrorists funded by the Libyan government strike airports in Rome and Vienna in 1985, the CIA enlists top propaganda expert Mike Garnett to help recruit a high-ranking Libyan official, Foreign Minister Abdallah Mukhtar, to work for the CIA. As violence escalates between the US military and terrorists based in Libya, Garnett utilizes CIA assets in Hollywood to produce a propaganda video designed to convince Mukhtar he was betrayed by his own regime. Garnett's plan works—but goes sideways when it motivates the Libyan official to do something Garnett didn’t even consider.


    Sharp and insightful, Secret Wars: An Espionage Story is a thrilling tale of deception, betrayal, and patriotism—and Garnett soon learns they’re not as black and white as they seem when he’s forced to reevaluate the true nature of the business of deception.


    For fans of Tom Clancy, David Ignatius, and Frederick Forsyth, Secret Wars is a fictional thriller set against the backdrop of historical events. Meticulously researched, it pulls from the author's personal experiences as a member of the CIA.

  • 00:51

    What's So Great About Pinot Noir: Part 3 Steve Lutz Lenne Estate

    in Entertainment

    The Minstrel and Muse Wine Tour, 3rd Thursdays.  November's show: New World Pinot Noir: California (Carneros), Oregon, and Chile through the words of winemakers on the episode What's So Great About Pinot Noir?


    Miles (From Sideways) on Pinot Noir: "It's a hard grape to grow... it's thin-skinned, temperamental, ripens early. Only somebody who really takes the time to understand Pinot's potential can then coax it into its fullest expression. Then...its flavors, they're just the most haunting and brilliant and thrilling and subtle and... ancient on the planet."


    Part I: Francois Lurton, 5th generation wine grower from Bordeaux. Owner, Francois Lurton SA. Imported by Winesellers Ltd.


    Part II: Michael Richmond from Bouchaine Vineyards in the famed Carneros region of California.  He helped found the Steamboat Pinot Conference over 30 years ago, which attracted winemakers from around the world and brought them together to share experiences and knowledge to help increase quality.  He founded Acacia winery and is now head winemaker at Bouchaine.


    Today's episode is Part III: Steve Lutz winemaker for Lenne' Estate in Northern Willamette Valley, Oregon.  He chose a vineyard site with the "worst soil in the county".  We'll find out why it's producing exceptional pinot.

Join Host Live Chats

From the BTR Blog