Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

The MoE Green Poetry Dissicusion Hosted by Rafael F.J Alvarado& Brett Candace

  • Broadcast in Poetry
  • 0 comments
World Wide Word

World Wide Word

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow World Wide Word.
h:4073
s:797531
archived
Join Rafael & Brett Candace as they talk to Steve abee & Karen Kevorkian Steve Abee is the author of the ranting novel, The Bus: Cosmic Ejaculations of the Daily Mind in Transit (Phony Lid Books), and a collection of short stories and poems, King Planet (Incommunicado). He is a Los Angeles native writing in the tradition of Whitman and Miller, seeking the universal in the common grains of the day. Beck Hansen has called Abee "The Love Powered Bull Horn blasting down from the altitudes," and Lydia Lunch has remarked that his "... savage poetry demands the reader devour passage after passage, only to be left soul seared and simultaneously re-invigorated." Abee is a writer worth your while. He currently teaches Middle School English in Los Angeles and lives in Echo Park with his wife and two daughters. Karen Kevorkian’s new poetry collection is Lizard Dream, published by What Books Press, the imprint of the Glass Table Collective, a group of predominantly Los Angeles-based artists and writers. Her first book of poems, White Stucco Black Wing, was published by Red Hen Press of Los Angeles in 2004. Journals publishing Kevorkian’s poetry and fiction include Antioch Review, Agni, Massachusetts Review, Quarterly West, Virginia Quarterly Review, Hayden’s Ferry Review, Mississippi Review, Witness, VOLT, Shenandoah, and Fiction International. She is in her first year of teaching poetry and fiction writing workshops in the English department at UCLA, after moving to LA at the beginning of 2008. Before that she taught at the University of Virginia for six years after moving there from San Francisco. She’s held fellowships at a number of artists’ colonies, most recently last fall at the Wurlitzer Foundation in Taos. She is a native of San Antonio.

Comments

 comments