Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Spiritual Success with Reverend Reckel Ferguson

  • Broadcast in Spirituality
Modern Zen Radio

Modern Zen Radio


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Modern Zen Radio.

The Four Noble Truths are regarded as central to the teachings of Buddhism and are said to provide a unifying theme or conceptual framework for all of Buddhist thought. In the Buddhist tradition, it is said that the Buddha compared these four truths to the footprints of an elephant. Just as the footprints of all other animals can fit within the footprint of an elephant, in the same way, all of the teachings of the Buddha are contained within the teachings of The Four Noble Truths.

The Four Noble Truths are:

1. Life means suffering.

2. The origin of suffering is attachment.

3. The cessation of suffering is attainable.

4. There is a path to the cessation of suffering.

Avoiding pain is impossible if you are alive, but there is a higher consciousness that we can aspire to that will help us better understand the nature of existence and assist us in working through suffering, while teaching us how not to create more of it. In this show Reverend Reckel Ferguson begins our Zen journey into suffering through a discussion of The Four Noble Truths.