Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

In My Own Seasons with Brigit Byron Coons

  • Broadcast in LGBT
Modern Living with Dr Angela

Modern Living with Dr Angela


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Modern Living with Dr Angela.

Brigit Byron Coons always knew she would be an artist, from her early beginnings in Detroit to her cross-country adventure that ended in San Francisco, where she found her voice. In 2012, she began transition to live full time as female—a psychological, emotional, and physical transformation as her truest gender identity was finally brought to light.

In My Own Seasons, Brigit brings together twenty-four poems that transcribe the artist’s struggles and triumphs over fear, painful doubt, and self-denial. In “Do You Know What It Is Like,” Brigit portrays her own years of hiding behind an identity that she was born to but was not her own. Then, in “Divas Door,” she sings the praises of freedom found in embracing one’s own truth.

You can find Bridgit online at http://www.brigit-byron-coons.com/