Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Black Thoughts and Theory: The Radio Show - Lessons from Black Panthers

  • Broadcast in Politics
  • 0 comments
MelaninAndPower Radio Network

MelaninAndPower Radio Network

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow MelaninAndPower Radio Network.
h:791023
s:9721741
archived

Black Panthers have been heavily discussed since their beginning and usually there's no neutrality with people's feelings on the group; they either praise or condemn the Panthers. While it is undeniable that they were very controversial, what isn't mentioned is that the biggest reason there was such an issue with the group is because they were all for the betterment of black people. The dominant society has always had an issue when the concern is on someone else besides them, particularly if that someone else is black people. But, there was cause for the Black Panthers to recognize a need for their existence, to form, AND to start doing work-- black people desperately needed an ally. That is exactly what the Black Panthers turned out to be, an ally for their own people.

However, how often have they been talked about with the intention of learning from their actions? This Thursday, Alex Primo and Asha Zuri, the hosts of Black Thoughts and Theory: The Radio Show as we breakdown all of the social programs, plans, and other actions of the Black Panthers. Then, we will discuss the lessons learned from all of the above and how that information can be made applicable in life today.

Join us this Thursday, at 9pm EST (8p CST and 6p PST) by calling in at 917-889-2830; press 1 to talk or 2 to listen. To listen online, please click the link below: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/melanin_power/2017/01/06/black-thoughts-and-theory-the-radio-show--lessons-from-black-panthers-1

Comments

 comments