Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Black Thoughts and Theory: The Radio Show- Why Are We Still Poor? Blacks&Poverty

  • Broadcast in History
  • 0 comments
MelaninAndPower Radio Network

MelaninAndPower Radio Network

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow MelaninAndPower Radio Network.
h:791023
s:8458821
archived

Why Are We Still Poor? Blacks & Poverty

 

On Thursday, March 17th at 9 pm EST( 6 pm PST, 7 pm MST, 8 pm CST), Alex Primo, Asha Zuri, and the BTT Family will explore the lasting poverty that has plagued the Black community for too many generations. We will dissect stats and historical data that will quickly explain why we are so often forced into financial crisis after financial crisis. We will review information from a myriad of sources that detail how we have long be the victims of subtle and obvious systems of oppression and subjugation that not only damage us mentally and physically, but financially as well.

 

Before we even get started, we need to understand that hard work alone has never produced lasting wealth in the Black community. Just pause for a second and think, if hard work created wealth, then why were the Blacks who worked the hardest mired in poverty and economic strife, even after slavery was over? Additionally, let's look at Black towns like Rosewood, where the people were slaughtered and the valuable land they possessed somehow landed in white hands. Or Sundown(white) towns that ran Blacks out of town and stole their land and valuables. And don't forget about Black Wall Street. Where we worked hard, got rich, and got bombed from the sky.

 

So why are we poor? Let's talk!

 

You can call in to speak with Alex or Asha at (917)889-2830

 

OR

 

You can log on and just listen by clicking the link below.

 

Remember, Always Keep It Real & Keep It On Point. #One

Comments

 comments