Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Black Thoughts and Theory: The Radio Show- Who Is Black In America?

  • Broadcast in Politics
  • 0 comments
MelaninAndPower Radio Network

MelaninAndPower Radio Network

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow MelaninAndPower Radio Network.
h:791023
s:8337997
archived

Who Is Black?

 

You might think that this is a easy question to answer, but a lot of people in America seem to not know who is and who isn't Black. Join Alex Primo(Stokely Carmichael) and Asha Zuri Thursday March 3, 2016 at 9 pm EST(8 pm CST, 7 pm MST, 6 pm PST) as we explore the concept of race in America.

 

Some say call themselves Biracial, Hispanic, Mixed, or some other interesting epithet. But, in America the standard has long been that you are Black if you have any known African ancestry. When you look back, some called this notion the "one-drop rule" or the "one Black ancestor rule." Some believe that this has changed over time and that America is now a different place. Well, we'll see if the facts support this pattern of thinking.

 

One fact that is quite interesting, is the fact that this rule only applies to "Blackness." It is not applied to any other group of people on this planet. As a matter of fact, it isn't even used the same way in other countries on the planet.

 

So, put this one on your calendar and tune-in on time because this is one show that you do not want to miss.

 

You can call in at (917)889-2830 to speak with your hosts

 

OR

 

You can click the link below to just listen.

 

Remember, Always Keep It Real & Always Keep It On Point. #One

Comments

 comments