Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Black Thoughts and Theory: The Radio Show- Racism, the Internet & Social Media

  • Broadcast in Politics
  • 0 comments
MelaninAndPower Radio Network

MelaninAndPower Radio Network

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow MelaninAndPower Radio Network.
h:791023
s:8181595
archived

Racism, the Internet & Social Media

 

We don't have to travel far or look too deeply to find racism on the internet. Whether it's a Google search for African American memes or a conversation on Facebook. We find racist images, words, and comments to be the norm in the cyberspace.

 

Join Alex Primo & Asha Zuri this Thursday, December 31 at 9 pm EST(8 pm CST, 7 pm MST, 6 pm PST) as we explore and dissect the racist ways of the very white world of cyberspace. From the lack of diversity in hiring to the existence of extremely derogatory pictures and phrases that are all over social media and the net, we will discuss it at length. We will try to understand why a white man would make fun of an innocent Melanated child. Why Black women are often heavily scrutinized and called unfeminine. Why Black names are 25% more likely to pull up criminal information. We will explore many of the racist tactics and practices of those who run the internet and social media.

 

Plus we will be joined by brother Dennis Jefferson with another Healthy Matters Update.

 

You can call in to speak with the hosts at (917)889-2830

 

OR

 

You can click the link below to just listen to the LIVE! broadcast.

 

And Remember, Always Be On Point & Always Keep It Real. #One

Comments

 comments