Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

"Lock Up: Profiting from Juvenile Incarceration"

  • Broadcast in Politics



Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Jacksons.

Juvenile Corrections has become an industry through the privatization of juvenile correction facilities.  This big money business has increased significantly over the past decade and now 40% of America's incarcerated youth are housed in private facilities.  A decade ago, Florida Judge Ron Alvarez was so horrified by the descriptions of "a fetid, graffiti-covered jail called the Pahokee Youth Development Center that he compared it to a 'third world country that is controlled by some type of evil power' .  The evil power in question at the time was named Correctional Services Incorporated.  Correctional Services Incorporated began with its humble beginnings of is now run as Youth Services International.  Judge Ron Alvarez was astounded that this corporation still does business with the State of Florida.


Please join Fred & Marg on Lies My Country Told Me on Saturday, October 26, 2013 at 2:00 pm EST (1:00 pm Central, 12:00 pm Mountain, 11:00 am Pacific and 3:00 pm Atlantic) for "Lock Up:  Profiting from Juvenile Incarceration".  Join us in either the chat room or call in with your comments at 677-347-1814.  You may email us at anytime at liesmycountrytoldme@gmail.com.