Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Fallen Nation: Trayvon Martin Case, Justice Denied"

  • Broadcast in Politics
  • 0 comments
Jacksons

Jacksons

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Jacksons.
h:262721
s:5014871
archived

We are postponing our "Detroit Part II: Solutions" show and instead will discuss the controversial acquittal of George Zimmerman in the death of unarmed, young, black teenager Trayvon Martin.

The acquittal of George Zimmerman has further polarized an already polarized nation, dividing it sharply along racial lines.  The United States self describes itself as " one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”, yet the acquittal of George Zimmerman clearly demonstrated that our rule of law is two tiered, one for the white population and one for our citizens of colour. 
 
The immediate aftermath may well damage racial relations more than the verdict itself.  The ensuing conversation is saturated with glee, gloating, rampant racial rhetoric and the elevation of armed George Zimmerman to hero status for killing an unarmed, young, black man.  What have we become?

To suggest that race had no place in the murder of Trayvon Martin is not only ludicrous, but also dangerous.  If we continue to deny the existence of racism having a foothold in America, we further polarize a racially divided populace, losing yet another opportunity to engage into honest, meaningful discussion.

Join Fred and Marg on Lies My Country Told Me, "Fallen Nation: Rationing  Justice in the Trayvon Martin Case" on Saturday, July 20th at 2:00 pm EST (1:00 pm Central, 12:00 pm Mountain, 11:00 am Pacific and 3:00 pm Atlantic, 3:30 pm NL time).  You can call 347-677-1618 with your opinion or join us in the chatroom. As always, you can email us with thoughts at liesmycountrytoldme@gmail.com.

Comments

 comments