General Strike: Stand Uo and Unite

Call in to speak with the host

(347) 677-1814

h:262721
s:4026947
archived
Jacksons

Jacksons

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Jacksons.

 

Michigan has joined 23 other "work to rule" states to fulfill the corporatocracy and right wing agenda of union busting.  Rick Snyder, Michigan's Republican Governor, signed this into legislation contrary to his election commitment in which he stated " I've been very consistent that I didn't want right-to-work on the table."  As more and more states join the GOP ranks with "work to rule" legislation, the collective rights of workers will be squashed.

In addition, as part of this feature on labour, we are going to talk about the "Death of North American Manufacturing" and who/what killed it.  n addition, while the Union movement is often considered the culprit behind the exodus of manufacturing job, perhaps it is time to look at Corporate North America's role.The union movement always seems to be the brunt of the GOP/Corporate North America's accusatory finger, but how accurate of an assessment is this ideology.  Is corporate North America the driving force behind the mass exodus of manufacturing jobs?

Please join Fred and Marg on Saturday, October 27th at 2:00 pm Eastern Standard Time (1:00 pm Central, 12:00 pm Mountain, 11:00 am Pacific, and 3:00 pm Atlantic) on BTR's "Lies My Country Told Me", to discuss not only Michigan's recent passed legislation and what it means for Michiganders, but how it affects the long term impact of legislation such as this on the unionized workers' movement.  You can join us in the chatroom on the BTR website or call in and give us your opinion at (347) 677-1817.

Comments

 comments