Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Independent Everything: LIVE with American Percussionist ~ Oliver C. Brown

  • Broadcast in Music
Independent Everything

Independent Everything


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Independent Everything.

Oliver C. Brown (sometimes credited as Oliver Brown) is an American percussionist, born December 1, 1946, in Berkley, CA. Brown was one of the original members of KC and The Sunshine Band. For four decades, Brown has played with a wide array of artists, from Natalie Cole to Jermane Jackson.

Brown's first big break came in Florida with TK Records as their in house percussionist. He recorded and/or toured with most of their artists. Following this, he became one of the original members of KC and The Sunshine Band as they recorded their 1974 debut album Do It Good, followed by the album KC and The Sunshine Band, which featured their first number one hit on the Billboard charts, "That's The Way (I Like It)."

In the late 1970's early 1980's, Brown was priviledged to record and tour with such artists as Jermaine Jackson, The Whispers, Larry Vann, Billy Preston. Leo Sayer, Al Jarreau, Natalie Cole, Thelma Houston and many more recording artists with Warner Brothers, Capitol Records, and Motown. 

Eventually he became the third member of the trio Gravity 180, which he considers to be his greatest artistic achievement to date. Brown has stated that the group has given him the opportunity to express percusission in a way that could be said to be a percussionists' dream. Brown also performs with Nils, a Billboard #1 Smooth Jazz artist and has done so on all of Nils' albums. He continues to perform with Nils and Gravity 180, as well as with other prominent artists from around the world.

Brown was featured in Gravity 180, the 2012 documentary film about the group, written, directed, co-produced, and edited by two-time awarding filmmaker Len Rosen. The film was a featured documentary at the Monaco Film Festival in May 2012, and was granted an Honarary award.