Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Saturday Night Widows with Becky Aikman

  • Broadcast in Health
Grief Talk with Audrey

Grief Talk with Audrey


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Grief Talk with Audrey.

On grief talk with Audrey, I bring you experts in the fields of death and dying, grief and loss, hope and healing and those who have themselves been on their own grief journey, to share their experiences and skills to help my listeners.

Forced to remake her life after the death of her husband, Becky Aikman gathered five other young widows like herself and took a forthright approach to finding happiness again. Armed with up-to-date research, they rejected the now discredited five stages of grief and substituted laughter, adventure, friendship, and a healthy interest in, yes, love.

Important, insightful, and sharply humorous, Aikman’s SATURDAY NIGHT WIDOWS: The Adventures of Six Friends Remaking Their Lives (on sale in paperback December 31, 2013) offers a distinctive take on a largely under-covered but universal topic—starting over after losing someone close to you. Recent research, Aikman was surprised to discover, indicates that traditional approaches to coping with loss can be isolating and depressing. The Saturday Night Widows followed the recommendations of the latest thinking, sharing new experiences together one Saturday night every month for a year.