Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Lydias Literary Lowdown with Lydia Aswolf

  • Broadcast in Books
GGM Radio

GGM Radio


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow GGM Radio.

Lydia is so excited to welcome the magnificent author Melissa Carey to Lydia's Literary Lowdown!



Melissa Carey is the author of the *Macie’s Guide to the Odd, Strange, Bizarre Unique, Unexplained and Twisted* series. Melissa published the first book in the “Macie’s Guide” series, *The PowerAwakened*, in March 2012. The expected release date for the second book, which will publish under the series name and simply be titled, *Book II, *is May 2013.

Ms. Carey has also developed a children’s program based on the book’s themes in which the participants discuss dreams and dream symbols, being an individual, and dealing with the feelings of grief and loss. Just like
Macie, the main character of the series, who uses journaling to express her thoughts and feelings and to deal with her experiences, each participant creates a journal during the event. The program is available for use in libraries and community-based events.

In addition to writing, Ms. Carey also combines her background in Music Therapy to help children and adults. As As a music therapist, Ms. Carey uses a variety of music activities to elicit or enhance family memories, teach
music and relaxation techniques, provide music and meditation sessions, and lead energizing and interactive group drumming (drum circles).

The first book in *the Macie’s Guide to the Odd, Strange, Bizarre, Unique,Unexplained and Twisted – The Power Awakened*, is available at Amazon.com and BN.Com.