Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

The Nearly Girl is spotlighted

  • Broadcast in Books
  • 0 comments
fran Lewis

fran Lewis

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow fran Lewis.
h:879987
s:9499607
archived

The Nearly Girl

by Lisa de Nikolits

Fans of "A Prayer for Owen Meany" and "One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest" will love this clever, fast-paced and enjoyable thriller.

Like a modern-day Joan of Arc, Amelia Fisher attempts to carve out a 'normal life', showing us how mythic the idea of 'normal' really is.

With a poetic genius for a father, an obsessed body builder for a mother, and an enchantingly eccentric group seeking the help of an unorthodox therapist, what could possibly go wrong?

A chance discovery propels Amelia and fellow therapy attendee, Mike, with whom she is in love, into a life-threatening situation instigated by the crazed doctor's own dark secret but Amelia's psychosis saves the day.

Told with warmth, humor and populated with vividly original characters, this sprint-paced novel has it all, from restraining orders to sex in office bathrooms, and a nail-biting ending.A novel about an unusual family, expected social norms and the twists and turns of getting it all slightly wrong, the consequences of which prove fatal for some.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments

 comments