Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.


  • Broadcast in Social Networking
Denzel Musumba

Denzel Musumba


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Denzel Musumba.
Violent reactions Likewise, Raila, the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party leader felt the wind from the ICC prosecutors office brushed against his cheeks after Kosgey and Ruto were included in the list of what is now called the ‘Moreno-Ocampo Six’. Earlier, ODM held an impromptu National Executive Council-cum- Parliamentary Group meeting that lasted for the better part of yesterday to agree on how the party should respond to the developments. There were no violent reactions to the announcement, though police were anticipating protests in some counties. Police officers were deployed in Eldoret town on Wednesday night, but there were no incidents. But in Nairobi yesterday an Assistant Minister and two MPs led protestors to denounce the Moreno-Ocampo move. Assistant Minister Ferdinand Waititu (Embakasi), and MPs Simon Mbugua, (Kamukunji) and Mike Mbuvi (Makadara) led youths along city streets, asking the prosecutor leave out Uhuru. And President Kibaki said those named would remain in office, as summons against them had not been issued, and they were innocent until proved guilty. He also said this on Wednesday. Muthaura, Uhuru, Kosgey and Ali are serving in senior positions. After the NEC meeting, ODM said in a statement Deputy Prime Minister, Musalia Mudavadi read, it would stand by its members Moreno-Ocampo named. The MPs also expressed solidarity with the six suspects. "The party in particular stands firm with its members mentioned in the Moreno-Ocampo list of six, and give them moral support during the process," said Mudavadi. The 14 MPs who attended the meeting also expressed confidence in the ICC process, saying it would deliver justice.