Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.


  • Broadcast in Social Networking
Denzel Musumba

Denzel Musumba


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Denzel Musumba.
Barring court intervention, the names and location of the 80 new constituencies the Interim Independent Boundaries Commission (IIBRC) is expected to gazette any time now can now be revealed. The proposed constituencies created in line with the decree of the Constitution promulgated in August, and which will take Kenya’s constituency tally up to 290 from 210, are in IIBRC’s provisional list. The additional constituencies are, however, still contentious given threats by representatives of Central, Eastern and Coast Provinces to go to court on Monday to try and block IIBRC from gazetting them because of claims the formula used to create them was uneven and discriminatory. If implemented the way it is, the new boundaries with drastically change Kenya’s electoral map and probably even change the power balance in Parliament. Mutula Kilonzo The distribution among the provinces, which has generated a lot of heat, but which has won support from Nyanza, Rift Valley, Western, Nairobi and North Eastern Provinces, could largely determine who controls the numbers in Parliament in the new political dispensation. IIBRC’s list was made available even as Mathira MP Ephraim Maina — who chairs the Central Parliamentary Group — vowed they would fight them from all fronts. "We will fight in all ways, including pushing for the disbandment of the IIBRC and in courts of law." He alleged the formula used to arrive at the number was against the Constitution, even though it had been endorsed by the MPs themselves.