Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.


  • Broadcast in Social Networking
Denzel Musumba

Denzel Musumba


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Denzel Musumba.
President Kibaki and Prime Minister Raila Odinga have swapped seven ministers and nine assistant ministers in a reshuffle of their Grand Coalition Cabinet. One Assistant Minister - Jackson Kiptanui (ODM, Keiyo South) - appeared to have been the only casualty in the changes. In the changes, Amos Kimunya moves to the Transport docket, swapping roles with Chirau Ali Mwakwere who now goes to Trade. Mr Mwakwere has been out of the Cabinet after his election as a Member of Parliament for Matuga was nullified, but he successfully fought a by-election. Prof Hellen Sambili moves from the Ministry of Youth and Sports to be the new Minister for East African Community. At EAC, she replaces Amason Jeffah Kingi who has been moved to Fisheries Development. The former Fisheries Development Minister, Dr Paul Nyongesa Otuoma has been moved to Youth and Sports. Ms Esther Murugi Mathenge takes over at Special Programmes after being swapped with Dr Naomi Shaban, who now becomes the Minister for Gender, Children and Social Development. Key Ministers who recently campaigned against the new Constitution - William Ruto (Higher Education) and Samuel Phogisio (Information and Communication) - have not been affected. The affected Assistant Ministers are Prof Margaret Jepkoech Kamar (Mineral Resources) and Simon Ongari (Trade). A statement from the President's office said the changes take effect immediately. New Constitution At the same time, the Grand Coalition MPs have agreed on a 15 team Constitution Implementation Committee headed by Abdikadir Mohamed (Safina, Mandera East) with Ababu Namwamba (ODM, Budalangi) as his deputy. The decision followed a joint parliamentary group meeting of the coalition partners - the Party of National Unity (PNU) and the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) - at Nairobi's Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC) attended by President Kibaki and PM Odinga.