Harry Elston - "Friends of Distinction - Grazing in the Grass"

Broadcast in Art

Call in to speak with the host

(949) 209-2956

h:37660
s:901905
archived
Colored People

Colored People

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Colored People.

We regret the low sound quality due to technical difficulties.


We are honored to have Mr. Harry Elston whose career spans for over 40 years.

In the early 60's he formed a R&B group called the Hi Fi's with Lamonte McLemore, (also a member of our network), Marilyn McCoo together with Fritz Baskett, Rex Middleton, and Lawrence Summers.

In 1969 the group "Friends of Distinction", (founded by Harry Elston and Floyd Butler, also including Jessica Cleaves and Barbara Jean Love) released their first album "Grazin" on RCA Records. The album included "Grazing in the grass" which was written by Harry Elston and is the group's best known smash. ("Grazing in the Grass", instrumental, was composed by Philemon Hou and first recorded by the South African trumpeter Hugh Masekela.)

In the 90's after 20 years of the groups separation, Harry Elston and Butler decided to bring the Friends back together.

Sadly Butler passed away before the group reunited.

in 1996 Elston formed a new Friends group and after 40 years, the Friends of Distinction currently tours and continues to bring us great memories and create new ones.

Elston is part of the Flashbackz - Celebrity Softball Team with Little Anthony, Robert DeBlanc, Bubba Knight, LaMonte McLemore and Sonny Turner. The Flashbackz and our sponsor DaughterNature.com have teamed up for worthy causes! Join us (Friday) March 12, 2010 at 7pm PST/9pm CST/10pm EST as we meet with Mr. Harry Elston

To *only listen over the phone*, dial (712)432-0075 Passcode: 900080.

Join our newsletter!

 

 

 

Comments

 comments