Susaye Greene - Down to Earth and Reaching for the Sky

Broadcast in Art

Call in to speak with the host

(949) 209-2956

h:37660
s:746112
archived
Colored People

Colored People

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Colored People.

 


Susaye Greene was born in Houston, Texas and attended and graduated from the New York City High School of Performing Arts (Made famous in the musical Fame)

Greene sang with Ray Charles' Raelettes and was the only Raelette to sing at Ray's funeral.

She is an acomplished songwritter whose credits include "Free", which she co-wrote for Deneice Williams 1991 "This Is Niecy" album, and "I Can't Help It" co-written with Stevie Wonder for Michael Jackson's 1979 "Off the Wall" album.

If that is not impressive enough, she is noted for being the last official member to join Motown group "The Supremes" from 1976-1977 and has been credited for adding a new dimension to the group's live act with her technical training and five-octave range.

In 1979, she hosted her own television show Hollywood Hot and in 2002 released her first album, "No Fear Here" (Most of the songs were written by Susaye) and in 2005 she released her second album "Brave New Shoes"

She is also an incredible painter, photographer and Ambassador to California for Goodwill Treaty for World Peace www.goodwilltreaty.org.

It is an honor to have with us ColoredPeople.net's talented member Susaye Greene on November 5, 2009 at 7pm Pacific/9pm Central/10pm Eastern

Join your host Tania-Maria Xavier as she talks to this beautiful sister about her life and current projects.

Join our newsletter!

Sponsored by: DaughterNature.com

 

Comments

 comments