Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Cyberspace: The New Frontier for Stalking and Harrassment

  • Broadcast in Lifestyle
  • 0 comments
Chelles Three Cents

Chelles Three Cents

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Chelles Three Cents.
h:278395
s:4426181
archived
Cyberstalking refers to the use of the Internet, e-mail, or other telecommunication technologies to harass or stalk another person. It is not the mere annoyance of unsolicited e-mail. It is methodical, deliberate, and persistent. The communications, whether from someone known or unknown, do not stop even after the recipient has asked the sender to cease all contacts, and are often filled with inappropriate, and sometimes disturbing, content.And sometimes, the victim is merely watched... Cyberstalking is an extension of the physical form of stalking. It is estimated that there may potentially be tens or even hundreds of thousands of cyberstalking victims in the United States. A cyberstalker only needs access to the internet. Due to the enormous amount of personal information available through the Internet, a cyberstalker can easily locate private information about a potential victim with a few key strokes. Information is power, and stalking of any kind is about power and control. There is little security on-line. Turning on a computer or using a smart phone can expose anyone to harassment. Everyone who receives e-mail or uses the Internet is susceptible to cyberstalking...Tune in as we discuss this rousing topic! 2 PM Mountain Standard Time (3 PM Central, 4 PM Eastern, 1 PM Pacific) Tuesday February 19th, 2013. Call in! We want to hear from you if you have been a victim (or perpetrator) of this offense!

Comments

 comments