Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Chicago Celebrates 50 years of Civil Rights-Rev John Porter

  • Broadcast in Social Networking
  • 0 comments
Tori s Teen Talk

Tori s Teen Talk

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Tori s Teen Talk.
h:328545
s:5341477
archived

There are documented stories told about the marches in Selma, Montgomery, and Washington DC. You have heard names of those who were a part of the struggle like Bayard Rustin, Whitney Young, Mahalia Jackson, just to name a few. But there are some names that put the Chicago Civil Rights Movement on the map, such as Rev John Porter, June Porter, Rev Leon Jackson, Annie Jackson, Father Hogan, Betty Edwards and so many more. Join us as Rev. Porter takes us back to the times of the civil rights movement in 1963-65 and what effect it had on Chicago. Together we will show how the Chicago Movement was tied into the national movement. Rev Porter, Rev Jackson and others organized the first Freedom school where CWT4R’s own Terry attended. Students were removed from Beale School in Englewood to make a stance against the discrimination that was going on in the school. Join us and become a part of the Chicago Civil Rights Celebration 1963-2013. Where were you and who inspires you to help keep the movement going? Call in on 347-215-8985 at 10:30 pm eastern time, 9:30 pm central standard time, 8:30 pm mountain time and 7:30 pm pacific time. Press 1 if you want to Speak

Comments

 comments