Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Popular in Books

  • The La Literati Panel discusses the works of F. Scott Fitzgerald

    in Books

    Our panel discusses the works of F. Scott Fitzgerald.  

  • H.M. Jones author of Monochrome

    in Books

    H.M. Jones will be on the show tonight to talk about her lates relase Monochrome a paranormal romance/fantasy.  You can find her here.  Her books are also about motherhood, and postpartum.  
    Blurb:
    What would you do to save your most precious memories? That’s the question that Abigail Bennet, a new mother, must answer in this dark fantasy. The cries of her new baby throw Abigail into rage and desperation. Frightened by foreign anger and overwhelming depression, the first-time mother decides to end her life to spare the life of her only child. But before she acts on her dark intuition, she is overcome by a panic attack and blacks out. When she awakes, everything is blue: the trees, the grass, the rocks and still, scentless sky above her. Everything except the face of the man who stands over her. He is Ishmael Dubois and claims to be her Guide through the dangerous world of Monochrome, a physical manifestation of the depressed mind. But in a place where good memories are currency, nightmares walk, and hopeless people are hired to bring down those who still have the will to live, Abigail starts to wonder if she’ll ever make it back to her family. Despite her growing feelings for her handsome, mysterious Guide, Abigail must fight for the life she once wished to take or fade into the blue.
     

  • The New Western and Westerns in Film and Television

    in Books

    AUGUST 13, 2015 - LIVING A RICHER LIFE ~ Life Changing Talk Radio
    THEME: The New Western and Westerns in Film and Television
    INTERVIEW GUESTS: 
    Kirk Ellis - Screenwriter, Producer, Emmy Awards and Humanitas Prize Winner. Kirk is a Western Writers of America (WWA) Spur Award Winner for Best Drama Script, as well as a Wrangler Award Winner from the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum.
    Anne Hillerman- Author of published eight non-fiction books and WWA  Spur Award Winner for the Best First Novel.
    THIS WEEK’S MESSAGE: When most of us think of reading westerns, classic western authors such as Louis L'Amour or Zane Grey come to mind.  But several contemporary authors are taking the themes of the traditional Western and applying them in more contemporary settings.  If you enjoy stories about semi-nomadic wanderers who live hard lives, mostly in wilderness settings, dealing with questions of honor and justice, you might want to try one of these stories of the new west. Also Westerns today are  in both movies and television. But you make be surprised to learn that Westerns are the major defining genre of the American film industry. They are one of the oldest, most enduring and flexible genres and one of the most characteristically American genres in their mythic origins. Let's learn more about the new western and westerns in todays' film and television.

  • Interview with Author, Jacob Sylvester

    in Books

          Jacob Sylvester is a guitarist, vocalist, writer, and educator who has been sharing his talents in and around the Washington, DC Metropolitan area for many years. He loves and performs a variety of music. He uses a mixture of many different styles in his music (Gospel, Traditional Jazz, and Contemporary Jazz). Always trying to reach intellectually as well as entertain his audiences.  Additionally, in 2014 Jacob released his first collection of poetry called:  MY WORLD IN VARIABLES. 
          The collection of poetry provides his views on a variety of topics – race, love, family et. al.  The book was published by JAKESONG MANAGEMENT COMPANY which is a company Jacob created to present his various creative and business efforts to the world.  Jacob holds a B.A. in English and a M.S. in Management from the University of Maryland University College. He uses his college training in literature to write in many genres including: Poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. To Jacob it's all about sharing his passion as a musician, writer, and educator.  Visit www.JacobSylvester.com for more information.

  • 01:01

    The Author's Talk Show with Charlotte Kemp (author of 'Centerfolds')

    in Books

    Charlotte Kemp is a former-Playboy Playmate now turned author.
    Centerfolds is the comprehensive collection of stories from the iconic women of Playboy(TM) Magazine as told by the real girls next door and the photographers who made them famous.
    Charlotte Kemp was Playboy's Miss December 1982 and Playboy's cover model October, 1983, also appearing in many ads and calendar photos for Playboy. She was the first Playmate ever given a License for "The Playboy Running Team" in 1993 and had 10 Playmates on the team who successfully raised money for many charities. Her first book was For My Eyes Only, which includes poetry, prose and short stories. During her working years with Playboy she had the first title of "Miss Budweiser," "The Best Breasts in the USA" and has several commercials and movies she has starred and appeared in, including a top 25 B Horror films of all time, "Frankenhooker." She has appeared on Inside Editon, The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, and many radio and regional radio shows all over the country. She has appeared in fourteen foreign editions of Playboy and lived for a period of time at the Playboy Mansion. 
    Not a bash-book or gossip-book at all, these are real-life stories from the people who were there.  
    Keep your eyes open for a sequal to come out soon.

  • $5.00 Dollars.

    in Books

    Has anyone ever told you,that you would never be anything in life. 
    And Today you have proven them wrong?
    I would love to hear your success story.
    $5.00 Dollars is my new upcoming television show.
    Like us today
    www.facebook.com/5.00dollar

  • Silence

    in Books

    Today I’m breaking my silence, by writing this self-help novel for all the mothers in America.    Who son was racial profiled by a security officer or a police officer.    Every time I turn on the news, I hear stories of African- American mothers, who had to endure the nightmare of her son being racial profiled to death.    This self- help novel is to encourage every heartbreaking mother, to continue to speak out and share your story with the world.    And just maybe one day soon, racial profile will be a crime and justice will one day be serve.
    www.booklife.com/project/silence-5573
     

  • Intimate Conversation with Ella Curry

    in Books

    Join us for an Evening with Ella Curry!  She is the president of  EDC Creations Media Group.  Sit back and enjoy a chat with some of the most talented authors on the planet. Learn more about the featured books.  You’ll enjoy a First Glimpse reading from the book too!    
    FEATURED AUTHORS AND BOOKS * *
    Authors and Publishers, visit the EDC Creations website for more book promotion opportunities:  www.edc-creations.com.  EDC Creations provides business owners innovative marketing solutions with a special focus on the African American literary community. We are also the publishers of the award winning, highly popular Black Pearls Magazine and the founders of the Sankofa Literary Society, which now has more than 1,800 members across the United States.   Become the next featured author or speaker on the BAN Radio with Ella Curry, click here:  www.edc-creations.com/banradiopromo.htm Follow BAN Radio and Ella Curry on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/EDC1Creations
     

  • The Author Chat Show with Lynda D. Brown

    in Books

    Meet author Judy Carlson. She'll be my guest on The Author Chat Show to discuss her new book, The White Knight, The Lost Kingdom and the Sea Princess.
    About the book:
    This is an epic-sized ideal romantic adventure in the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Tolkien. With abundant imagination and great Biblical sensibilities, Judy Carlson takes up the ancient story of the Eastern Islands, now overtaken by the mysterious and evil Lord Regent. The battle to restore righteousness, liberty, and justice takes place just as the White Knight’s Prince Lael meets the intriguing and beautiful sea princess. Clara and Ian, two kids from Minnesota, join the adventure to battle evil, overcome lurking temptations, and along the way gain wisdom, love, and friendships. For those with an imaginative soul, this unique story will engage, entertain, and edify with godly counsel readers of every age. The White Knight is perfect for literature study or family reading.
    About the author:
    Judy Carlson is from St. Paul, MN. She and husband Tim have six children and 20 grandchildren and reside in Missouri. Judy has a BA in English from Trinity International University. Her lifetime passion for literature and writing and the works of C.S. Lewis and Tolkien has permeated this novel with their characteristic sense of wonder. She  wrote her first story at age nine, and has been the grand storyteller to her children and grandchildren.

  • Marta Burden,"West Line Encounter"

    in Books

    Marta graduated from Azusa Pacific University with a degree in Biblical Literature, and began her career as a bookkeeper, office manager and eventually executive secretary for an education/lobbying organization. Now retired, she devotes her time to writing contemporary fiction, devotionals and short stories.
    She is published in Inspire Anthologies, including Faith, Victory and Promise.
    Marta lives in Northern California with her husband and spoiled cat, Kleinah. She enjoys spending time with her two grown children and eight delightful (grandmothers can say this) grandchildren.
    You can visit Marta at verbalismbuffet.blogspot.com