Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Kori chats with author William Hayashi

  • Broadcast in Books
Back Porch Writer

Back Porch Writer


Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow Back Porch Writer.

William Hayashi's first novel, Discovery, Volume 1 of the Darkside Trilogy, is the first installment of the story of a community of African Americans who beat Neil Armstrong to the moon and reside there for four decades before being discovered by those living on earth. Volume one of the trilogy, an engaging story, tells of how the United States of America makes this historic discovery and what happens in this country as a result. Discovery is now available for sale online and makes a great gift anytime.

Conception, the second installment of the Darkside Trilogy, tells the story of the remarkable people found living in secret on the backside of the moon in Discovery. Conception tells of the four high school friends who become as close as brothers, and in the process. envision finding a place where they can build their own community for America's Blacks unencumbered by the slights, prejudices and deprivations of a racist American society of the early 1960s.

The Darkside Universe is a wide-ranging epic that spans seven total novels: two trilogies, and a seventh volume which winds up the epic tale. Hayashi has scheduled new installments to arrive every year.

Currently, Hayashi can be found hosting The Genesis Science Fiction Radio Series, a weekly online show for the blacksciencefictionsociety.com Web site interviewing Black artists and content creators in the science fiction, horror and fantasy genre. Guests include comic book, short story, novel, spoken word and other medium creatives.