Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy have changed. We think you'll like them better this way.

Show #16: ATO on air - "Running, Winning & Losing in a First Nation Election"

  • Broadcast in Politics Progressive
  • 3 comments
ATO

ATO

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow ATO.

Call in to speak with the host

(646) 915-9028

h:43226
s:1285750
archived
"What is assimilation if not the Act of doing to yourself and others what was first done to you?" Atlantic - 9:00 PM, Eastern - 8:00 PM, Central - 7:00 PM, Mountain - 6:00 PM, Pacific - 5:00 PM Join Hosts Preston Twoyoungmen begin_of_the_skype_highlighting     end_of_the_skype_highlighting (Nakoda) and Gregory Cadotte (Anishinabe) as we discuss Running, Winning & Losing in a First Nation Election. SPECIAL GUESTS & TIME SCHEDULE: 1.) TONY WAWATIE (5:15 PM) - Barriere Lake First Nation - Update on Forced Election. 2.) MYKE AGECOUTAY (5: 30 PM) - Former File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council Vice-Chairman 3.) MARGARET SWAN (5:45 PM) - Former Manitoba Southern Chief's Organization Grand Chief 4.) BILL WILSON (6:00 PM) - B.A., LL.B. and Former AFN Representative We will discuss in great detail the process of making the leadership choice and eventually participating as a candidate for a First Nation Election (Indian Act or Band Custom), win or lose. What are some of the political strategies that Indigenous people use in this foreign and colonial process that, for the most part, we all condone and follow. As well, we will discuss how a chief or council member derives their authority to govern from the Indian Act, an Act that is subject to both provincial and federal laws, as well as the Department of Indian Affairs. Finally, how a Chief or Council gains power from the money and resources provided by the government, which is used at the discretion of the chief and council. A power that provides the chief or council with a great amount of control and influence over the community (as intended). Join us as we bring you Show #16 of ATO on air, "Running, Winning & Losing in a First Nation Election". TOLL FREE CALL IN NUMBER FOR GUESTS AND LISTENERS: (877) 627-5072 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              (877) 627-5072      end_of_the_skype_highlighting

Comments

 comments