amyalkon

amyalkon

×  

Follow This Show

If you liked this show, you should follow amyalkon.

Advice Goddess Radio: Amy Alkon/Dr. Judith Sills

  Broadcast in Psychology

Call in to speak with the host

(347) 326-9761

*Show is at slightly different time this week -- an hour earlier, at 6pm Pacific, 9pm Eastern.

Nationally syndicated advice columnist Amy Alkon's Advice Goddess Radio: "Nerd Your Way To A Better Life!" with the best brains in therapy and research.

My guest tonight is psychologist Judith Sills, Ph.D.

I don't like a lot of self-help books because I typically find them very much about the self of the writer and not all that helpful. (They also tend to be filled with annoyingly cutesy writing.) An exception is a book by Sills, "A Fine Romance: The Passage of Courtship from Meeting to Marriage." http://amzn.to/MwfANM

In it, Sills busts a lot of the myths of how relationships work (like the myth that there's one right person for everyone), and has a fantastic chapter on managing ambivalence -- your own or that of a person you care about. Tonight show will lay out when to push and when to hold back in the process of developing a relationship, how to negotiate your differences and find a decent way to fight about them, negotiating commitment, and much more. 

Listen live at this link or download after the show (click "Play in your default player"). And do call in with questions when the show is live -- 347-326-9761

Join me and all my fascinating guests live every week from 7-8pm Pacific, 10-11pm Eastern, at http://www.blogtalkradio.com/amyalkon

Tags:
love
dating
sex
relationships
manners
h:240979
s:3270217
archived

Comments

 comments